Observations in India

So I wasn’t able to do that review that I had mentioned here. That’s because I headed off to India for my brother’s wedding. While I was there, like a true bra maniac, I checked up on their bras and bra styles. I could only find one color: white. And a few styles that were pretty much a variation one way or another of this. The only sizes I saw were about 32A to 38C. There was no such thing as large cups. The reason I discovered was that the way they wore bras was pretty much just to smash the breast against the body. And about half the women didn’t even wear bras, just a sari blouse. Now I am only talking about villagers, not people from large cities. I do not know if they have more and better options in the cities. I sure hope so!

I was fitted with a custom sari while I was there, and I found it a little amusing when I tried it on. The bust was just big enough, with little “cups” (kind of like bra cups) at the fullest part of the bust. The “cups” were about the depth of a B cup. The part of the blouse that was supposed to fit snugly at my waist was vastly too large, although I had given my measurements. I wonder if the reason for that was that they just figured I had misunderstood what they meant by measurements or the seamstress just assumed that no one has such a drastic difference between bust and waist measurements and that I just measured wrong. After all, the second thought there is true in a way. Except that if the fuller busted women there wouldn’t just smash their breasts into a bra, but actually get fitted with the proper size…

I didn’t see any nursing bras, so I have nothing to say about that aspect.

Leave a Reply

